Starting to figure out a plan . . . .

Day 6 of my 365 portrait project

Day 6 365 Portrait project - Mark Ivkovic, York Photographer

Day 6 365 Portrait project - Mark Ivkovic, York Photographer

Link to 365 Project Flickr set

Braved the winter wonderland that is York today in an effort to shoot something. I think the cold weather has kept most of the interesting looking people indoors. Just as I was giving up hope I walked through the markets to see this friendly face looking back from amongst the camo gear.
Asked to grab a couple of shots and that was me back to the warmth of the home office.
It’s not the sharpest image i’ve ever taken but I was playing with my nikkor 85mm f2 mounted to the canon 1d mk2 (curious eh?).
Manual exp and focus, almost felt a fraud by getting the instant gratification of digital.

I suddenly realised today when I got a big wedge of provisional “work” shoot dates through that I’m not always going to have the luxury of posting everyday. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to be shooting everyday, it’s just my little excuse for apparently missing a couple of days then suddenly catching up again. I will however always strive to post seven new portraits every week.

Thought of the day – Seriously, print your photographs, don’t just leave them on your computer, display them, hand them around, feel them. There is something very very satisfying about holding a photograph, It gives it life and importance.

Todays kit –
Canon 1d mk 2, Nikkor 85mm f2
Plus a little adaptor ring that lets me mount the Nikon lens to the EOS body. Everything becomes manual, exp and focus but we’re all big boys and girls we can handle such things, right?
It’s fun using this set up, and it’s a good bit cheaper than the EF 85mm f1.2. What’s 2 stops between friends eh?

More tomorrow, plus I have a plan brewing for the weekend shots (at last, plans are forming)

Mark

Leave a Reply

