It’s A Jungle Out There.



It’s A Jungle Out There., originally uploaded by bang*.

27 / 365

So I’m still digging doing this 365 project, it’s got me thinking more and more about photography as a whole along with it’s relation to me and my life.
Susan Sontag once wrote “Those who collect photographs collect the world.” This has always been one of my strongest convictions about photography but it was only something I realised once I read that simple quote. I’m a visual person, If I had the ability to utilise words to express my emotions and vision then I probably wouldn’t be a photographer. Luckily I’m more skilled with a camera than wordcraft. However Sontags quote goes further than that, by expressing ones vision through the medium of words or watercolour etc. you inevitably taint the truth with your emotion. Photographs tend to be more “real” in that the viewer can believe (through the understanding of how a camera functions) what they are seeing. You know the old phrase “The camera never lies” right. Well that is what Sontag was getting at. I however prefer Richard Avedon’s viewpoint in “All photographs are accurate, yet none tell the truth.”
What’s all this got to do with todays photograph? Nothing really, I just like to vent my mind every now and then and this 365 project is becoming quite a good place for me to vent my creative vision upon the world without the risk of a client thinking I’ve gone quite mad by shooting the brief and then shooting some crazy angles with killer contrast and through a sheet of purple perspex just to see what it looks like.
Oh just one more photographic quote before I go, this one is the ultimate response to the question “Why are you taking a photograph of that?” Mr Garry Winogrand says “I photograph to find out what something will look like photographed.”

Leave a Reply

