Order

Order, originally uploaded by bang*.

31 / 365

Month one done. I’ll try to do a recap / review later this week.

Not too much to add today, it’s Monday after all. Things to do and all that. Working on printing my fine art gallery prints for exhibition this week.

Todays shot came about through a flickr group who set up daily themes (challenges) for a shot just for fun. I felt it would be a good place for ideas should I ever run short during this project. I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to shoot today so when I saw the theme was “Order” if figured the scrabble board was still around from yesterdays shot. Plus I figured the ODC group needed some OCD influenced photographs.

I’ve never held my breath quite so much while setting up a shot.

Shot on the 5D mk ii with the Sigma 50mm f1.4.
I’m coming back around to the Sigma 1.4 over my Canon 1.8. At first I loved the Sigma, then became a little annoyed by some of the results from it wide open. Now I’m re-embracing it as my go to 50mm on the 5D, I love the look it has at f1.4 – f2. Kind of a mix of creamy and dreamy with a beautiful vignette. From f4 onwards they are pretty much equals, apart from the silent and faster focus of the Sigma.

I’ll leave you with a very astute insight from Susan Sontag again (yup still reading) which in a way reinforces my ongoing plea for people to print their digital photographs.
” . . . Television is a stream of underselected images, each of which cancels its predecessor. Each still photograph is a privileged moment, turned into a slim object that one can keep and look at again.”

Leave a Reply

