Finishing Touches

Finishing Touches, originally uploaded by bang*.

34 / 365

It’s the little things that finish the look.

In this case it’s cufflinks and brass shirt collar bones courtesy of Pink.

The folk who may be lucky enough to have worked with me will probably know I’m a pretty smart chap really. Sure sometimes I’ll be rocking the outdoor look but when I’m shooting for a client, dapper is the order of the day.

I figured I’d combine todays shot with some lookbook details I’ve been shooting.

Shoot Info –

Equipment – Canon 5D mkii, Sigma 50mm f1.4, 60 inch gold reflector, lots of soft natural window light.

First Set up –

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Above is the first set up. A set up I’ve used before for similar shots, using my favourite background paper & the floating product concept. No reflector yet, light from behind subject.

First below is the second set up – Abandoned the floating idea for now, just went for straight backlight to see If I liked the look. Maybe with a reflector this could have been an okay look but I wasn’t happy with the strength of the paper pattern.

In the middle I flipped things around and brought in the reflector. Now the window is behind the camera and the reflector is just out of frame behind the subject. Lots of warmth added to the images but the paper was still too sharp.

Next the same set up with the paper flipped over, decided to close the collar bone pouch as it was throwing the composition out a little.

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I figured I wanted more separation from my background so via the power of photographers special magic sauce (available from all good camera retailers, just ask they’ll know what you mean . . . . . .)

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

This I was pretty happy with but still I wanted less of the pattern showing through. Also the reflection of the reflector was a little strong for my liking.

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

This shot I could go for, maybe a little more sharpness but in essence it works for me. However I figured why not take things a bit further with some “diamond action”.

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

After the fun of throwing the diamonds around I tried to get some pop back into the brass of the collar bones.

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

Thomas Pink accessories product shots by M. Ivkovic, bang photography, York, UK

That will pretty much do it. So all in all todays shot was brought to you via the means of natural light, magic sauce and diamonds. What more information could you possibly need, go create something. Oh and P.S. don’t really go to your local camera retailer and ask for photographers magic sauce.

Leave a Reply

