Project 365 – January Review



Project 365 – January, originally uploaded by bang*.

Hoorah, as promised here’s the review of the 365 project for January. Sure I know it’s nearly March but I didn’t really get into the swing of this until February anyway.

I’m going to try and break down the review into; which shots I like most & least, what I’ve learnt, how I’m planning on proceeding.

My overall impression to the work I’ve created so far is that I’m pretty happy with it, some of the shots sat well within my “safety zone” others pushed my boundaries beyond my “normal” look. I wouldn’t say there’s a theme or even a encompassing style that ties all of the months shots together. This is probably partly due to using different cameras and not fully appreciating how much time can be required some days. The shots taken with my Canons are united in style, the iphone shots are united in style and the Leica shots are too. So maybe that’s something to take forward, maybe anything not shot on the Canons should be black & white from now on in an attempt to tie everything together more.

So on to which shot/s I prefer; that’s a tricky one for me as the artist to decide. As when I look at the photographs I’m reminded by the circumstances in which they were taken, the effort / time / skill needed to create the image. This comes down to my ability to be self critical and objective about the work, something which I luckily learnt early in my career (although sometimes I can be known to take the self criticism too far). I’d probably say I’m happiest with the shots of the Red leaf (that’s the magic floaty leaf to some) they just have something about them which confirms what this project is all about to me. They’re photographs which I wouldn’t have otherwise created, yet they have a commercial value. I highly enjoyed the process of creating them and was honestly really happy with the results. Everything clicked, from initial conception to final image. I ventured along creative pathways which otherwise would have gone unexplored and that Is probably what pleased me the most.

As to the photograph I’m least happy with, well the Rock Jock shot on day three was a clanger, Forkeh (although marvelously named) is a nothing shot really and Riding Dirty didn’t tell the story it was meant to. Of the three Riding Dirty should have been much more so I guess it’s the one I’m least happy with.

So what have I learnt so far along this self prescribed road?
Well there are a number of good photographic blogs out there for anyone wanting some inspiration (or distraction). I’ll probably link to some in future posts.
Flickr has a “look”, I’m not saying that’s necessarily a bad thing, It just has. Maybe I’ll expand on this in the future or maybe I’ll just keep it to myself.
Having ideas and lists of ideas is good but don’t forget to execute those ideas otherwise what use are they.
It’s not as simple as just “taking an photograph everyday”. Well to me it isn’t. I have a standard and style of shooting which I strive to maintain and evolve, by just grabbing a quick shot I’m damaging my own integrity. So to further this point, this project is taking up more time than I originally envisaged.
There are good days and bad days, you never know what kind of day it’s going to be.

How am I planning on proceeding?
Well February has been a rollercoaster month for the project so far, more client jobs has meant a busier schedule and it’s only going to get harder as the year progresses. I’m enjoying that part of it though, it’s a nice timeout. So planning and scheduling are going to be more important.
I guess I’d like to try and tie the work together more so that If indeed I do put a book together at the end of the year it will flow a little easier.
Also I may start to look into some themed weeks, like colours or portraits or something.

I’d like to thank those who have commented, given feedback or said they’re enjoying the project so far. It means a lot. I’m working along the Create, Share, Sustain ethos. Sure it’s a personal project and I only really have myself to impress, it’s about creative growth but if in the sharing others gain something then that makes it all the more worthwhile. As for the sustaining, well lets just say some of the photographs will be appearing on more than just flickr.

3 thoughts on “Project 365 – January Review

  1. I ran across your blog on WordPress just like thousands of other people yesterday and I am really inspired by your work and this project. Thank you for sharing it and I can’t wait to see how this year unfolds for you…

    • Thanks for taking the time to look around and comment. I’m very humbled by the exposure to be honest, If somehow it inspires one person to go out and create something that they then share with the world
      , that will make me happy.

Leave a Reply

