Miss Grace



Miss Grace, originally uploaded by bang*.

Day 56 / 365 – Bike Week Cycle Chic continues.

The cycle chic gods were smiling down on me today. It just goes to show that if you keep on looking you’ll find a gem. This is looking like the favourite for bike of the week.
So it was one of those drizzly mornings and I was beginning to think I’d never find anything beautiful. I’d got some good shots of an injured commuter bike against a red brick wall which I liked but the light was really bad. I was about to call it a day when I walked up to this.
It’s a Gazelle Miss Grace and she’s pretty right? So much so that you get five photographs instead of the usual one or two.
In honesty I think the sun rise this morning fooled a number of people into thinking it was going to be a nice day, this does not look like a rainy day bike to me.
The green paint, wicker basket, retro lines with modern comfort and that front light is amazing looking tucked up in there.
This is the kind of bike that should make anybody want to ride.
The details on this thing were just out of this world and the metal engraved badge on the top tube just finished it all off.

Shot with the Canon 5D mkii and my trusty Sigma 50mm at f1.4 (as always).
I’d just popped the lensbaby on and was starting to fear I needed to take a different path shooting wise but as soon as I saw this bike it went straight back in the bag. I knew how I wanted this series to turn out and the lensbaby look had no part in it.

Every shot just popped out of the camera, the look the sigma shot wide open has on the 5D is just beautiful. It complements my style and vision so much that it’s become almost scary how I know exactly what I’m going to get before I shoot.
This is the feeling I lack with some of my other lenses, so much so that I decided to do something about that this year. I’ve had (like most photographers) a wish list of lenses for a long time, some have been removed as I learnt more what my style was and how I shoot but others have become more desired. Now I’m also a HUGE Leica lover and if ever I come into a HUGE amount of money I’ll be ordering an M9 with a 35mm & 50mm in a flash. However the M9 isn’t really a camera which suits my professional work, it would hinder rather than free me.
One thing that has come from my M9 lust though is the whole simplified lens thing, Leica users tend to have one or two lenses and that is it, us dslr folks though for some reason desire to have every possible focal length covered. I don’t just mean 24mm, 35mm, 50mm etc etc, we feel the need to fill in the gaps too 24, 25, 26, 27 . . . . . you get my drift. In my early days I had a 50mm and a 75mm, that was it. Now I’m covered from 12mm-300mm and I don’t think it’s helping.
So the refinement of my vision and style is beginning, a lens revolution is happening here at bang Photography, I like things zen, simple and clean. In this respect I’m making plans to usher in the Prime brigade. Out with the zooms and in with some lenses with a little character, lenses that make me think a little more and work for my shots. I may not be ready for the manual focus of the Leica just yet, but the ethos behind fixed focal lengths, I’m all over that.
So what’s going to be in my bag? That’s still under wraps until I’m certain I find what I’m looking for, I know what I use and I know the look I want (selfish aren’t I?). I think I’ve got it about right but the proof will be in the next couple of weeks with some testing.

5 thoughts on “Miss Grace

  1. LOVE it.. it’s even my colors! Great selection of shots, wonderful DOF and lighting. Makes me think about braving the mud on the trail to go ride. Too bad I already planned to go work on my quilt. You should really make a coffee table book of these shots. It would be fun, I would buy it. Great end to the week, thanks for sharing
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • Thanks for the kind words Anna. Initially I was planning on putting a book together of my 365 Project at the end of the year but this weeks shots seem to have resonated with quite a few people. So I’m going to have a little think and hope to run the bike project alongside my 365, I have a few things I’d like to try with the bikes so it could become a nice book.
      As for a prime 50mm, I had a little peek around your blog and it seems you’re shooting with canons. The 50mm f1.8 II is super cheap (well compared to every other lens in the world) and is a beautiful beautiful thing. Sure if you drop it it’s probably never going to work again but I had one for a good number of years and it treated me well. Just ask this guy http://willsteward.wordpress.com/ (who I talked into getting one) how much it rocks his world.
      One warning though, if you start shooting a 50mm fast prime and like it, you’ll probably never use a zoom again.

Leave a Reply

