Saturday Montage – Bike Week Final Day

Day 57 / 365.

So today herelds the end of bike week for my 365 project. I’d say this had been the most enjoyable week yet for me during this project. Probably for a number of reasons, including that I’ve been shooting primes (or a taped off zoom), I’ve enjoyed the restriction of subject, I’ve made some creative business descisions which I’m certain are correct.

I’ve a feeling this won’t be the last shot of bikes in my stream or my 365 project. A number of people have requested more and I’ve some really intersting ideas to take this thing further so look out for that later in the year.
As to todays shot/s, I felt it only fitting to finish with a slight encore, so four bikes for the price of one (and a little B&W action to boot).
If I had to choose just one to be my 365 shot it would be the bottom right. Sure it’s a dirty, wet alleyway but the way the light was falling just so and the suggestion of the bike. It just begged for B&W.
Thanks for tuning in for bike week, I’m not sure where I’m headed next week but expect some new arrivals.

Being honest one of my new arrivals made it here today (just as I’d finished outputting todays shots). I’ve had a quick play and try, it’s a lovely thing and is giving me the look I so desire from my kit. What is this thing? Well I’m creating my own trinity of lenses built around the Sigma 50mm, I decided on something a little wider and something a little longer, that’s all I’m saying at the moment.
My old workhorse from back in the day the Canon 24-105mm f4 L is saying goodbye on Monday, she isn’t being used as much as she used to be. I’ve tested it against my other lenses and although being a wonderful, sharp, technically beautiful lens, it’s just not for me anymore. I need something else, it’s not all about image sharpness, it’s about character, emotion and other “arty” things like that. Will I regret letting go of many peoples idea of a perfect walk around lens? Well I’ve been thinking long and hard about it over the last month or two and with the new line up I’m bringing in and my other lenses, I honestly don’t think I will.
I’m pretty sure I’ve got the new “trinity” spot on but I’ll wait until I get chance to give them all a good workout next week before confirming it.

5 thoughts on “Saturday Montage – Bike Week Final Day

  1. So sad, that your bike week is ending! I’ve always appreciated your photos a lot – they’re wonderful, I’ve never seen shots of bikes so beautiful before.
    Thanks for sharing them with us!

    • You’re very kind to say, worry not though I’m certain more will appear in the future and maybe they’ll be another bike week nearer summer.

Leave a Reply

