Green on White



Green on White, originally uploaded by bang*.

Day 61 / 365

That’s right, it’s colour week. I’m feeling a need for strong vibrant colour this week so the aim of the game is head out and find single colour photographs. A bright and rainbowesque celebration of all things colourful.
Plus it make for a good journal of portrait locations, heh heh heh.

I guess I decided it was colour week today while sitting in my local coffee shop at 8:30 planning out the day. I’ve been thinking about my use of colour in photographs a bit lately this has partly been brought on by my strive to reclaim some of that look of film.

I remember back in the day if you wanted strong vibrant colours & tones you’d load up some fuji velvia and be done. What came back from the lab was what you got. These days you shoot away then back in Lightroom / Aperture / whatever, you can click away changing colour balance, saturation, contrast etc. Now I think that’s great but it’s a little like going to a restaurant with a menu three hundred pages long versus going to a place with three specials and soup to offer.
Often the more choice you have, the harder it is to be clear on what you want. I’ll use another analogy, remember ordering coffee, you know “I’ll have a coffee please.” non of the contemporary “de-caf, low-fat, columbian, flat-white, grande, syrup, choc-on-top, slow-pour, upside-down” that goes along with it, just coffee.

Sure we all want choice, but sometimes it’s nice to just get what you’re given right? You knew when you loaded that roll of velvia into your camera that your colours were just going to pop (you didn’t shoot a whole lot of portraits with it either (right tool right job again see)) but when you got the final photographs back you didn’t think wow I just need to dial back the saturation a bit, well maybe you did but you couldn’t easily do it.

So what am I getting at, I guess I’m headed along the know what it is you want from your image.
My ethos is to; Identify the intention, minimise distraction, maximise the mood and lead the eye.
To me, all these things should be in your head when composing the shot, then they should come back in post production when refining the image to portray your vision in the strongest possible way.
Well that’s my goal when i’m photographing anyway.

Leave a Reply

