Voyeur



Voyeur, originally uploaded by bang*.

Day 75 / 365

5D / 35mm

Another spot I had in the bag for a busy day (see I told you I’d be needing them this week).
Just as well really, the weather has been pretty dismal the last two days, fog all day and really dark with it. Luckily this spot needs some flatness to the light to allow the graffiti enough exposure without totally losing the street.
I seem to be having a thing for pools of light at the end of tunnels this week.

Maybe the light at the end of the tunnel shots are something to do with some kind of realisation in my work and business. Maybe it’s from the new kit choices and a feeling of coming into the light, who knows. Often your mood affects how you see things and certainly how you shoot. If I’m feeling down then It’s highly unlikely I’m going to be photographing jolly, humorous images.
So although all photographs are accurate, none tell the whole truth (That’s Avedon by the way).
Is that really what it looked like? maybe, but it’s exactly what it felt like to me at that moment.

Lots of exciting things starting to rumble up for bang photography at the moment. These are some pretty exciting times and I ‘m getting that giddy feeling when I think of what these things could mean for my business and the goals I have set for it (and myself).

2 thoughts on “Voyeur

  1. I like the supposed irony in this image. I decided to look up the actual definition of voyeur and decided that would most likely not suit any photographer. I always believed a voyeur to be someone who watched others (like someone sitting at a cafe watching people walk by) but it turns out it is a bit more sordid than that. Regardless I still like the image.

    • You know I kind of had a similar understanding of the word, I understood the “voyeur” took pleasure from the viewing, however I believed the subject matter to be somewhat different (more towards your people watching analogy).
      I’m now somewhat more educated in the english language now.

Leave a Reply

