Shot Between a Rock & a Hard Place – Some initial thoughts on the Lumix 14mm f2.5



Shot Between a Rock & a Hard Place, originally uploaded by bang*.

Day 126 / 365

Headed back to the street of York for todays shot. I’ve been lucky enough to get my hands of a Lumix 14mm f2.5 to try. The 20mm f1.7 is quickly becoming one of my all time favourite lenses, it just has something about it wide open, I just fancied something a little wider to finish off my travel kit. To be honest I’m really wanting a 24mm equivalent (12mm) but no-one makes that lens (yet) so the 28mm equivalent (14mm) had to do.
I’ll pop some thoughts up on the blog to add to my ongoing Oly PEN review later on.
As to todays shot, I’ve seen this before so figured it was time to shoot it.

Olympus PEN (E-PL2), 14mm f2.5

Initial Thoughts & Feelings on the Panasonic Lumix 14mm f2.5

First off this thing is even smaller than the 20mm, it’s a whole lot lighter too. The build feels the same but it has a smaller “glass” frontage, so to me it doesn’t look as nice on the camera.

On the PEN – Focus is lightening quick and whisper quiet so it that respect it’s better than the slightly slower to focus and tiny bit noisier 20mm. So I guess for the video shooters this is a big plus.
The field of view is (as expected) wider, so it should make a good street, landscape, travel lens. To be honest the 20mm is already a good lens for all those purposes, but for a travel kit it’s nice to have something a little wider (and with this lens you won’t notice it in your bag as it takes up minimal space).

More to follow once I get some shots in the bag

Leave a Reply

