Odd One Out



Odd One Out, originally uploaded by bang*.

Day 218 / 365

Another shot from around the Minster. Back to my love of simplicity in composition.
Loving using the Canon again, the Fuji X100 is a great camera but I’ve come to the conclusion that I love the idea of it more than the actual camera. Oh well the best way to learn is through our mistakes.
I whole heartedly thank Fuji for bringing the X100 to market and for risking doing something different. The camera was nearly so very right but over the last few months I discovered I’m just not having so much fun while using it. As essentially a point and shoot ca,era one would imagine that you could indeed point and shoot it, however due to its quirkyness you couldn’t rely on that shot being in focus. For instance, you know when you’re out and about and you want to take one of those shots of you both together by holding the camera at arms length pointing it back at you kinda thing? well the fuji will pretend to do it, well it will do it but it won’t be focused on you as it can’t easily focus that close (fail for a “fun” point and shoot) and that’s just one of its short comings.
I’ll admit I fell for all the love and praise and PR and hype and whatever that the camera came with. Hell, it really is a thing to behold in its beauty. However to be honest looking back over the last six months since firstly getting the Oly PEN and then swapping for the Fuji my fav shots came from the PEN. Also looking at the keep numbers the PEN had 1247 from 8 weeks use, the Fuji 941 from 12 weeks. That kind of did it for me, especially seing as the Fuji came to Budapest too. Now I’m not saying the Fuji “missed” any shots, it’s just the fun factor of the little Olympus meant I’d experiment more & that 20mm f1.7 lens, oh how I missed that thing (camera geek out moment). So as a “fun” all the time companion camera the PEN wins.
D’oh!
See i’ll admit my mistake, or misguided faux pas, call it what you will. Three months down the line from swapping my PEN for an X100 it’s time for a reversal, taking a few steps back in order to progress if you will. I’ll put some full thoughts together in a full post once everything is sorted in a kind of X100 review if you will. Don’t get me wrong it is a camera capable of fantastic image quality, it just isn’t rocking my world as much as something costing that much should.

Canon 5D mkii / Sigma 50mm

3 thoughts on “Odd One Out

Leave a Reply

