Route 66



Route 66, originally uploaded by bang*.

Day 352 / 365

Thought I’d shot this window before but apparently if I did I never used it. Luckily for me.

Yashica MG-1, Fuji 400h

I’m having a strange relationship with the Yashica rangefinder. It’s great in that it is mostly aperture priority exposure, in order to compensate for exposures you can fiddle with the iso setting and force over or under exps. The lens is a fixed 45mm f2.8 which is a great focal length and I guess pretty fast, it’s fairly compact, light enough to carry around all day etc. etc. etc.
What bugs me is it isn’t the camera I want it to be. I admit that for £20 what more can I ask for right, and the camera I want it to be is about 30 times as much.
I think the other thing is that shooting digital for so long has made me pretty lazy exposure-wise. How easy is it to shoot in low light now? simple right. Just bump the iso up and fire away without a worry of camera shake. The MG-1 loaded with portra 400 (rated 100 to give a little magic) even shot wide open at f2.8 struggles. The little low speed warning light comes up more than I’d like as I brace myself against something sturdy and breathe in pre tripping the shutter.
Maybe I should just alway shoot Ilford Delta 3200 in it then I’d be bumping the other warning light of over exposure.

Leave a Reply

