(C)over Boy



(C)over Boy, originally uploaded by bang*.

web | blog | facebook

Model : Jamie Wands-Murray (Maverick Models)
Photographer : Mark Ivkovic (moi!)

Leica CL 40mm f2
Kodak Tri X in D76 (standard)

Using the film cameras more and more for these shoots. Partly as I’m starting to trust that they still work and partly as I’m still in love with that little difference that the film look has.
I’m still running with the Film26 project, 26 two week periods of the year where we work through the alphabet for subject matter. You may now understand the title of the photo & this post.
I have to say I’m blown away by this little rangefinder. Previous to the CL I’ve used a rare (simply because they’re kinda worthless and mostly broken) Lordomat & a Yashica MG-1 (cheap as chips fixed lens “compact” rangefinder from the 60’s (ish).
Before you all get “I thought you were immune to G.A.S.” this was all early(ish) last year during my long term GAS illness.
Now the Lordomat was my first rangefinder camera and for that I dig it, it is also a thing of beauty. All chrome and metal and heavy. The lens was actually pretty good if slightly dreamy wide open. I just hated the tiny (and I mean tiny) viewfinder. So I started looking for something to replace it with (whilst ignoring the Leicas) I really wanted something handy but also quick to use almost as a snapshot camera. So I headed into the muddy waters of 60’s Compact rangefinders. Compact is a laugh, you’ll see if you ever pick one up. The Olympus 35 SP was my real aim but not for the price they now go for. So I stuck with the Yashica Electro that isn’t a Yashica Electro and only cost me £15. It’s okay, shot plenty of stuff with it but the aperture priority only shooting mode really started to bug me as I had to rely on the meter firstly being right and secondly being accurate.
So to the Leica CL. This is pretty much exactly what I’ve wanted from a rangefinder since I discovered how much I like them. Sure i’ll admit it isn’t a Leica M but it takes M lenses and shoots the same film. It’s lighter, smaller and has a built in meter (which works). Plus if someone asks to see it I’m not going to have to ask them to pay a deposit before I hand it over.
Maybe soon I’ll run through my medium format camera of choice these days. I’ve been trying a few different systems (via a process of begging and borrowing) over the last 6 months or so and I’m now feeling sure that I’ve found my camera.
So more film coming from me in various sizes, type and such. Five rolls went to the lab yesterday and I’m planning on running a good few through the cameras during my shoots this weekend.

Oh happy Valentines and all that too.

Mark

(C)over Boy

(C)ase

One thought on “(C)over Boy

Leave a Reply

