Would you fall to pieces if I never came back . . . . . .



Editorial test., originally uploaded by bang*.

web | blog | facebook

Goodtimes and giggles all whilst denying any desire to be Justin Timberlake.

Back to basics and breaking the “rules” that the photography gods would have you believe are there to protect you.
My kind of shoot, finding the “me” in my work again.

Huge thanks to Melissa (unsigned so snap her up despite missing those last couple of inches). I think she may have been a little worried of messing up but she pretty much killed it.

Editorial test.

I was once told that apparently shooting in broad midday sunshine with the subject stood in it makes for really terrible photographs. Well if these are terrible photographs then so be it, I like terrible photographs. Know light and know how it works, that should be a given for every photographer. Don’t fear the light just know how to use it.

More to follow over the next few days . . . . . . .

5 thoughts on “Would you fall to pieces if I never came back . . . . . .

  1. I would say you’ve absolutely nailed it, Mark. Beautiful! Must admit, I do have trouble sometimes in midday sunshine, so I’m in awe. And, as good as you are at the studio lighting/sensational hair and makeup stuff (you do it well!), there’s just something…. I don’t know…. more you, more engaging in these, at least to me. As if that matters! J.

    • Thanks Jen, it matters.
      As much as I love working in the studio on the polished glossy beauty work, I always feel I can try to put that little bit more of myself into shoots like this one. Maybe It’s that combination of finally starting to understand a little more about how my own photographic mind works or perhaps I’m coming up to my 10,000th hour (http://www.gladwell.com/outliers). I’d recommend people hunt out Mr Gladwell talking about this book as it has some interesting and thought provoking concepts, on a whole the book’s rather interesting too but I give you one warning – You will bore the pants off anyone around you whilst reading it as you recall to them everything you just read.
      Wow, another reply turns into a post of it’s own 🙂
      As to shooting in full sun, I’ll admit it takes some bravery but so long as you remember that your going to get dramatic contrasty light and that you have to keep the subjects eyes to the light, you can get some really striking looks.

      Oh yeah and Jen I think maybe it was just me reading it beasties.

      Mark

Leave a Reply

