A rare reblog, mainly as it pretty much sums it up.

So every now and then I go off on a little rant about printing your work and the dangers of future proofing. Now I’m not wanting to open the whole digital / analogue debate for the millionth time, it’s been done to death, the industry is changing and we must change with it, what I’m talking about here is the history of it all.

My client work is pretty much always doomed to a short lifespan, such is the world of fashion, who really cares about it once the latest trend is over? Personal work however, to me this is my life in photographs. As we experience things in life we each have our own way of dealing with it and remembering it, some write a journal, others can live off the stories, me, I take photographs, I live life through a viewfinder. It’s just my way of remembering. However, what becomes of these “memories” in 10 or 20 years time?
I’ll leave it up to Christopher to put forward his thoughts – http://christopherwilockiphotography.tumblr.com/post/35083500099/i-am-done-with-photography

Now I’m certainly not “done” with photography, I in fact love photography. It’s just that like Chris I fear what we are going to leave behind (or not). My inspiration coming from my contemporaries such as Ryan Muirhead, Severin Koller, Luc Braquet. All these guys have a few things in common? Yes they all shoot film so yes there’s always going to be the Leica thing but apart from that they all revel in the process, they use their tools because they simply love using them. They get pleasure from not only making photographs but also the very means by which they do it. I’m pretty sure I’ve never felt that my Canon gear has inspired me, sure it makes the whole job easier but that isn’t really the point at all. 

“For me the film vs digital argument is not about the ability of the mediums to produce good images. For me it’s about how shooting film makes me feel. My Contax, and especially my Leica are inspiring to hold and look through. They make me want to shoot, to be more creative, to contribute to what has already been done with these amazing instruments.” R.M.

Again, I’m not saying film is “better” or “worse”, it also isn’t about the nostalgia. It’s about creating photographs in the way you wish to create them and with a tool which actually compels you to do so.

So I guess what I’m saying is just go back over the thousands of photographs you all took last year and print a few off and stick them on your wall, or in a shoebox or something. Just keep some to look back on one day.

Leave a Reply

